Escaping the Suburban Rhythm

nationals fans and ipods… | April 29, 2007

Last night, I went to the most ridiculously awesome baseball game that I’ve been to in a while. Pitcher’s duel. Extra innings. Willie Randolph getting thrown out because the first base umpire blew four calls that went against the Mets (and we were in a section that had the game on TV as well, and yes, it was quite obvious that the ump was wrong on all the plays). It was pretty amazing. The fact that the Mets won it in the 12th made my night even better.

Quotes of the night before I go into my rant:

“Oh! Gary and Darryl were at the game tonight. One’s a hall-of-famer. One’s a cokehead.”-some guy remarking on two guys wearing Carter and Strawberry shirts after the game

“This is officially the gayest stadium I’ve ever been to. Who sings ‘Sweet Caroline’ at a game. You don’t see that shit at Camden Yards.”-dude who was sitting 3 rows behind me. I think he was pissed that there were so many Met fans there because everytime a “Let’s go Mets” cheer or the Jose soccer cheer got started, he would yell at everyone.

“I don’t root for the Nationals. I root for the Senators.”-that same dude

“Excuse me. I seem to have gotten lost. Can you point me in the direction of RFK…thanks.”-Jimmy

“Don’t worry, I’ll take you to the 7 train.”-me in response

But here is what I don’t understand about you Nationals fans. You boo the Met fans who were there for cheering for their team, but the game goes into extra innings, and you peace out at the end of the 9th inning! How can you even rail on Met fans for being there when you don’t even support your own team. After the 10th inning, pretty much 75% of the people at RFK were Met fans. And before the 9th, there were actually a lot of Nats fans there. I understand that people don’t appreciate the fact that the Nationals are in last place in the NL East, but if you don’t show your support, it’s only like you’re reaffirming the fact that you don’t care about your team and in turn, they don’t care about you. I honestly could not believe how many people left. It was 3 extra innings! You could have gotten your money’s worth out of that game.

And especially for me since the Mets scored 4 runs in the 12th, but you know, that’s just me.

Otherwise, if the Mets hadn’t won, I was going to kill Heilman and that ump.

In other news, my parents got me an iPod nano for my birthday, and I’ve been trying to figure this shit out. ugh. Apparently, since my computer hadn’t been hooked up to the internet for almost 2 years before I got internet here recently, I have version 4.5?? of iTunes. Which wouldn’t be so bad if the software wasn’t so old and refuses to read my iPod. So I tried to download the new software for 7.1, and it keeps giving me this “we don’t know whether it’s valid to stop services” shit, even though I’m the administrator of my computer (which I thought my problem was). So I tried to uninstall the old version, and apparently, it’s still on my computer. I delted the first install and tried to reinstall the new version, and that’s saying that the first install hasn’t been completed. The apple web site has been useless to me, and I’m seriously going to give up for the moment and just use Welvin’s old iPod again to run. And I was hoping that I would be running with my music, rather than his.

This is exactly why I didn’t really want an iPod in the first place, because I knew it would piss me off. But what other mp3 player was I going to use. bah.

I give up for now.

Posted in baseball, Music, rants


  1. Sweet Caroline is a baseball stadium classic, FACT. People like that Met hating, defunct team cheering clown are the reason baseball left this city twice.

    I was at Sundays game cheerin on the Mts and was asked to keep it down twice.


    Comment by BR — April 30, 2007 @ 12:25 pm

  2. They sing Sweet Caroline at Fenway Park every game. And anyone who uses Camden Yards as his example of an excellent fan base A) is clearly not a very knowledgible fan and B) has never been to a game in New York, Boston, Chicago or anywhere else with a respectable crowd.

    Comment by Eric — April 30, 2007 @ 2:50 pm

  3. Sweet Caroline is a standard at baseball games? Oh Jesus I love it when the Mets are in town.

    I was there too…great game. The one thing I think we can agree on(Me, as a Yankees fan who loves having baseball in DC…and you as a Mets fan at least going to the Mets games in town) is that there is nothing worse than Red Sox fans.


    Comment by inowpronounceyou — April 30, 2007 @ 3:33 pm

  4. Sweet Caroline is funny, but it’s better than YMCA. It always amuses me to see families and kids singing the song realizing they have no idea they’re singing about a place young men can go to have gay sex.

    Comment by K — May 1, 2007 @ 1:06 pm

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

